Markers: A love hate relationship part 1

I suck at Korean markers/particles but at the same time I find it interesting from the language point of view. I am no linguist but am intrigued how a word can totally mess up a sentence or give it meaning. This is my review of the markers I should know broken into a few parts. I hope it would be useful for you too!

When I was school I was not taught about the subject and object in sentences as schools advocated incidental learning of grammar then. But I had to pick it up when I started working. Before I go into Korean grammar, I would like to refresh your memory first in a very layman way.

Example:
Alvin eats an apple.

In this sentence, Alvin is the person we are talking about so he is the subject. An apple in the thing in the sentence so this is the object. In this case, eats is the verb in the sentence.

Try to find the subject and object of these 2 sentences.
Jamie carries her bag.
A dog bites the girl.

Answer
Jamie – subject
School bag – object
Carries – verb

Dog – subject
Girl – object
Bites – verb

Subject (이/가) using those 2 examples.
Alvin: 앨빈 (이 is used because of the final consonant ㄴ)
Jamie: 재미 (가 is used because there is no final consonant)

Object (을/를) using the same examples as above.
Apple: 사과 (를 because there is no final consonant)
Bag: 가방 (을 because there is the final consonant ㅇ)

One response to “Markers: A love hate relationship part 1

Leave a Reply

