AWAD – taxi 택시 (noun)

Here’s another word that is so necessary when I go to Korea. Here’s the 2+1 sentences:

1) Can you call a taxi for me?
택시를 좀 불러 주시겠습니까?
2) What time will the taxi arrive?
몇 시에 택시가 도착합니까? 
3) Where should I wait for the taxi?
어디에서 택시를 가다릴까요?
(Thanks to Swanlake for the Korean translation!)

Extra info:
Taxi driver (택시 기사)

12 responses to “AWAD – taxi 택시 (noun)

  1. 1) Can you call a taxi for me?
    택시를 좀 불러 주시겠습니까?
    2) What time will the taxi arrive?
    몇 시에 택시가 도착합니까? 
    3) Where should I wait for the taxi?
    어디에서 택시를 가다릴까요?
    Hope this helps ^^

  2. Add these:
    모범택시 or simple 모범. The black expensive ones.

    I learned 모범 from My Name Is Kim Sam Soon.
    (phone conversation)
    남: 잘 들어갔어?
    녀: 어.
    남: 뭐 타고 갔어.
    녀: 버스가 끊겨서 택시 타고 왔어.
    남: 다음부턴 모범 타. 위험해.

    Now there’s 고급 택시 (deluxe taxi) and 콜택시 (call taxi) and 개인 택시 too. But I don’t know if they are any different with the 모범. Regular taxis can also be called 일반택시 (so as regular (not express) buses – 일반버스)

    택시 정류장 taxi stop
    빈차 – if the taxi is vacant you can read a red led sign with the word 빈차 (vacant car)

  3. Avoid them as much as possible if you are on a budget. You can take subways and buses anyway. But if you are with a group, sometimes it’s cheaper to take a cab though.
    If you really have to take a cab, just avoid the black ones. Most taxi drivers are chatty to foreigners especially if you can speak in Korean. Enjoy the experience! 🙂

    By the way, when will you be in Korea?

    • Hey Alodia, thanks for the tip. I’ll be in Korea in April. I’m hoping to use public transport most of the time. Cabs would only be for far off places. 🙂

      • Haven’t traveled Seoul a lot but with the wonderful subway system and the numerous buses I can’t really imagine a place too far off that one has to take a cab (well I love walking too so make it subway-bus-walking). The only time I took cabs in Seoul was when I was carring boxes of heavy stuff. Ah! We took a cab going to one of the remote MBC studio. Thinking about it now it’s kinda impossible to go there if not on a cab. But that’s already outside Seoul anyway. XD I took more cabs in provinces because they are cheaper and my friends from there seems to like taking cabs XD

Leave a Reply

