Addressing people (아/야)

Finally, I understand why sometimes ah and ya are used after a person’s name. (thanks to my Korean friend)

It is used between friends and it is definitely informal. It could also be used when speaking to someone who is younger (children, student, niece, nephew and etc.)

야 [ya] is used for names without a final consonant.

For example:
홍기야 – Hong Ki ya
신혜야 – Shin Hye ya
If you watch 1 night 2 days, you would recognise SEUNG GI YA!

아 [ah] is used for names with a final consonant.

For example:
근석아 – Keun Suk ah
하늘아 – Ha Neul ah

Edit: added in some extra information.

4 responses to “Addressing people (아/야)

  1. I wish I had seen this post… like 4 years ago? LOL
    It has been a long time question I had then and no one seems to understand me (or I’m just not explaining it well). Also saying ‘how to address someone’ in Korean is not easy for a beginner to say so I can’t ask my Korean friends. I later learned it from my books. ^^

    • Glad to know this post is useful to a non-beginner. 🙂 I happened to talk about the variety show and my Korean friend explained it to me.

Leave a Reply

