Korean Typing Game

Picking up Korean has been pretty fun so far. I splurged on Korean keyboard stickers and I’m on my way to typing in Korean (in snail’s pace).  Hence to increase my typing speed, I asked Uncle Google for help. He led me to Hanok Korean Class’s blog that introduced a really cool game by Daum. It’s a kids game but it is really fun. I’ve been playing it for 2 days and I can recognise most of the alphabet’s positions now!

image

There are 3 games that allow you to practice typing in alphabets, words and sentences. I’m not sure if it is a Mac problem but I can’t get the words typing practice to work properly.

Hopefully I can type without looking at the keyboard in a month’s time.Argh, I need to stop playing the game and start working!

14 responses to “Korean Typing Game

  1. Pingback: Addicting Korean Typing Game | My Korean Corner

  2. For anyone having issues with the word or sentence practice on your Mac, it’s important to note that you do need to switch the keyboard input to Hangul mode (I use 2-set Korean personally). While some of the initial Hangul character practices do not require this change, any of the games involving text input (so words and sentence practice), you do need to change to the Hangul input source mode. It’s reachable from Apple -> System Preferences -> Language & Text -> Input Sources. I find it easiest to switch by turning on show in the menu bar so I can see the flag denoting which input mode I’m in.

  3. I am using a mac (OS X Mavericks), but I can’t get the word practice section to work. I have set my keyboard to 2-Set Korean, and I can type hangul into the box, and the hangul appears, but the words don’t get destroyed. I tried typing each syllable separately, and also the whole word together, but neither works. Actually, it worked for one word only, and not ever since.

    Can anyone help me?

    • Are you making sure to hit Enter/Return after typing in the word?

      Unlike the other games where you would simply hit the appropriate key and that would be success, the word games will require you to hit Enter/Return after you type the word into the box. I assume this change is so that if you make a mistake you can quickly hit delete and retype and not get penalized.

  4. Hi,
    I’ve been trying to play this game, but it doesn’t seem to be working… it won’t load in Chrome or Firefox. Any suggestions?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

